There is a fungus among us.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddmckee54

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Saw a couple of white blobs on my neighbor’s yard Monday morning, almost looked like grocery sacks. This is what they turned into and there’s 3 of them. Don’t know if they’re toadstools or mushrooms, I’m an engineer – not a botanist.

This is the biggest, that’s a 12 oz. can beside it.
PIC 1.jpg

Another look at the biggest, changed the orientation of the can for a better scale reference.
PIC 2.jpg

This is the smallest in diameter, but it’s the tallest. (No I didn’t give them a V8, it’s just the best thing I had for a size reference.)
PIC 3.jpg

Another view of the tallest.
PIC 4.jpg

Just hope those giant mutant fungi don’t start taking over MY lawn. I don’t think we need a slogan like this: Manchester – Home of the Killer mushrooms.

Don

Some mushrooms are edible, and some are not.

I have read quite a few stories of someone finding some wild mushrooms, using them to make soup, and then killing multiple people who eat the soup. The toxic ones can be extremely toxic.

I generally avoid mushrooms just because they don't quite seem like meat, or vegetable, or anything else I can relate to.

And in the drug world, some varieties will cause wild halucinations, with the person sometimes randomly attacking strangers.

And I think caves are the best environment for growing them, since they don't need light to grow.
Very odd items for sure.

Saw a couple of white blobs on my neighbor’s yard Monday morning, almost looked like grocery sacks. This is what they turned into and there’s 3 of them. Don’t know if they’re toadstools or mushrooms, I’m an engineer – not a botanist.

View attachment 158001

Another look at the biggest, changed the orientation of the can for a better scale reference.
View attachment 158002