Starret Scribers,Scriber sharpening and scribed lines

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gus

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi Gurus,
Please contribute your 2 cents worth.
I don't deny being taught badly in Trade School and marking out jobs. Or perhaps I was a bad student.

1. I bought two expensive Starret Scribers to start all over again.
How would a professional tool maker sharpen scribers? Go to bench Grinder
Use oils stones to hand sharpen. How pointed should the scriber points be.
2. Would the hardened scriber point eventually run out and a heat treatment
done to restore.

3. Marking out. I don't deny using brute force to get deepest scribed line.

4. Also bought Starret Drill Point Gage to check out my free hand grinding.
Some twist drills cut on one side. Others not too bad if I take time to eye
drill point.

Well I'd never get near a "grinder" with a scribe unless your [ I don't deny using brute force to get deepest scribed line.] actually broke the point off. Why do you need such a deep scribed line.? It only has to get through the layout ink.
...lew...

Gus--I too am guilty of deep scribe lines. I use layout dye and scribe lines on almost everything I do. Then when the parts are finished I have to spend a lot of time sanding the scribe lines out. For my money, use the shallowest scribe lines that you can still clearly see. I have a cheap scriber that came with a set of squares from BusyBee tools. It is simply a piece of .093" dia. drill rod with an aluminum handle. Whenever ir gets dull, I walk over to my grinder and rotate it carefully on the grinding wheel untill the point is restored.