Employment advice

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chillybilly

Reaction score
I have worked for a large US service company here in the uk in as a Refrigeration engineer ,up until April this year i worked in the supermarket sector ,a fierce buisness which eventually got to much ,12 hr days and 52k miles a year 10 years off .
I moved within the buisness in april to the building services side for the same basic salary as in fridge which is kept low due to the OT requirements but i could handle that as i predominately worked in my home city and enjoyed the variety of the work doing lots of none fridge stuff and spending less time on the motorways .

All was well until i was seconded to a new residential site for 2 months to get it sorted out ,8 hours on site and 2 hours a day travel for free in the company vehicle for which i have to pay the mileage as it is considered personal mileage as the site is residential (UK TAX rules).I decided to get my head down swallow the pill and get the place sorted ,which i have been doing with some sucess with very little support from my company management .More of the buisness side of the contractual responsibility is being piled onto me and ultimately more pressure carried on thinking it is only for another couple of weeks .

Alas it seems i have been stiffed !!!!Looks like i am to be permanent with no increase in my salary and no compensation for the mileage costs (management only ) a victim of my own success it seems .My contract is for a mobile eng position and it appears i am £4k down per annum on the rest of the engineers in the area to boot .