Valve seal

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Parksy

Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Gday all

I remember reading something on here a few weeks ago about running an engine can help a ever so slightly leaky valve to run in and seal. Is this true?
I have managed to achieve what I believe is a good seal on the engine I'm making, but because I've never done this before, I don't have any idea on what actually is acceptable or not.
After I lapped them, I filled the intake and exhaust ports with cutting oil and the valves didn't leak. I thought cutting oil would make an acceptable test because it wicks and flows very well.

Cheers for reading

Andy

Andy,
Cutting oil is probably too viscous. These model engines have much smaller combustion chambers than full-size engines, and they are more sensitive to smaller leaks. In my opinion the best way to check them is with air which has no viscosity. With the valves closed you can pressurize the combustion chamber or else pull a vacuum behind each valve. I check all my valves this way. If you feel this is too much trouble (it can be), you might try alcohol with a little dye added to it to make the leaking liquid more visible. I'd consider an alcohol leak test a necessary but not sufficient test of an acceptable valve seal. It's also been my experience that trying to determine if a valve seal is good by blowing into it using your lungs is pretty meaningless as it will only detect gross problems that are probably very visible to your eye. - Terry

Last edited:
A few members, including myself, run a new engine with a power drill or more substantial electric motor and pulley set up, and let the new engine fire for a while, this seems to settle the valves in better. After a short time, the new engine is able to run by itself with much better compression.

Paul.

Andy,