Steam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am running some FEA simulations. So far so good, unless I have something really wrong. I am using a piston similar to the ones in an IC engines. I think it holds better alignment.

And as I am new to steam engines, please correct me when I am wrong. I sometimes have strong opinions about things, but I know experience trumps opinions any day of the week.

Everybody has to choose the methods and materials that they prefer to use for their engine builds.

I am an old guy who prefers old-school style, and so I encourage that style just because I like it.

Everyone has to figure out what is right for them, using the materials that are available in their part of the world, and using the machine tools that they own or have access to.

Hi Ejrego, Any pictures?
"IC" pistons, where you have 3 distinct features - are designed for Single-acting use where there is no Cross-head. Some steam engines are single acting and have no "aligned" con-rod, so use the same style of piston. But many steam engines are double acting, and therefore have an aligned con-rod (it remains in-line with the axis of the bore) and a cross-head, that is doing the job of the piston skirt on a single acting piston with "rocking" con-rod.
You mention that you are new to (I read that as just "learning about") steam engines, so perhaps you'll understand a bit more when I explain some fundamentals of engine design:
A piston has 3 functions, but not always in one piece.
For the "IC" piston that you are modelling: